iTunes “This computer is no longer authorized..”

January 19, 2010 at 7:00 am 20 comments

So, this week when synchronising my iphone I was faced with an interesting message:

This computer is no longer authorized for applications that are installed on the iPhone “iMoo”. Would you like to authorize this computer for items purchased from the iTunes Store?”

Sub-note: “If you do not authorize this computer, 27 applications, including “ColorSplash”, and their data will be deleted from this iPod.”

Anyways as expected, when i pressed “Authorize” button provided, it didn’t actually work. So I pressed cancel and didn’t bother about it, however I soon found that many of my apps were not working, they would simply close straight away.

So anyways, thinking iTunes had finally worked out that my phone was jailbroken, I jumped on google and had a bit of a look around.

Turns out, it hadn’t… to my surprise the fix was pretty (well really) simple.

  1. Log in to the administrator account.
    • Note: If you do not have access to an administrator password, you will need to contact the administrator of this computer. If this is a work computer, this may be your IT department.
  2. Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes installed. You can download the latest version free.
  3. Choose Store > Authorize Computer.
  4. Enter your iTunes account name and password in the resulting dialog
    • Note: Following this step, I was told that my computer is already authorized
  5. Lastly, right click on the iPhone under devices on the left panel, and click “Sync”

All done :) With a bit of luck you should be able to sync with no probs at all :)

If the above steps work for you, please like, tweet or share using the buttons below. Cheers.

Entry filed under: Applications.., iPhone Tips. Tags: , , , , , , .

My switch to Snow Leopard Simple iPhone 3.x Tethering

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bob Affleck  |  June 14, 2010 at 12:56 am

    Jump wanted to bump this as it helped me out – thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. Gaurav  |  July 14, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Very nice. Yes, worked for me as well. I was afraid to give my password earlier thinking it would charge my credit card again for all the paid content. But worked out fine.

    Reply
    • 3. Jared  |  July 14, 2010 at 9:45 pm

      Luckily this is something we don’t have to worry about. As far as I am aware, Apple associate purchases with the AppleId, not the phone handset itself. This means you can upgrade your hardware and your purchases are transferred.

      Reply
      • 4. bumblebee7782  |  May 3, 2012 at 6:26 am

        Hi! Thanks for the help but what do I do if it says this computer is already authorized? My dad’s account has been disabled so I’m trying to use mine but it just won’t work! Any ideas please?

  • 5. Fred the Fop  |  September 7, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Um, where do you see “Authorize computer” under “Store”??

    Reply
  • 6. Jared  |  September 8, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Have a look at this image here!
    hope this helps!

    Reply
  • 7. Miguel  |  October 5, 2010 at 11:19 am

    It worked for me (2010-Oct-05). Thanks! – It had never happened to me, until after I connected in China for the first time , I was worried, all is ok now, thanks!

    Reply
  • 8. Richard Smith  |  October 19, 2010 at 3:41 am

    I have this problem. Tried to authorize computer via store> it Authorizes but then when I try to sync fifa 11 downloaded via Install0us it asks for authorisation over an over again?

    Reply
  • 9. ibrahim  |  December 18, 2010 at 5:56 am

    This computer is no longer authorized for apps that are
    Installed on the iphone Tawashi’s iphone would you like to authorize this computer for items purchased from the iTunes store?
    If you do not authorized this computer 33 apps including AJA live and this data will be deleted from the iphone
    You can not authorize more than 5 computers

    Reply
  • 10. Ruth Jones Photography  |  January 18, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Thanks!! I just changed computers and had this message, but this helped fix it straight away :D

    Reply
  • 11. Adsy  |  February 7, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Thanks man. I thought I would lose all my apps but your article saved me a lot of time :D

    Reply
  • 12. MelissaBee  |  March 4, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Well, I am in the minority, but I tried the fix you suggested, and I’m still stuck. This started happening to me after I had the logic board replaced in my Mac. I figured iTunes just thought this was a new computer (since it sort of is, in a manner of speaking) but it will ask over and over and over for me to authorize the computer. In frustration I finally will hit “cancel,” but alas, I cannot change any of the content on my iPad. I am going to consult the geniuses at the Apple Store…

    Reply
  • 13. Fee  |  March 11, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    I had the same message today after finally updating my iTunes to the latest version and then trying to upgrade and sync my iPhone. I ended up with the same error message and then the apps on my phone would not open. However I did something different and thought I’d share. I just went onto my iPhone, into Settings and then Store, then I signed out of my account and then back in. Then everything worked!

    BTW, my phone isn’t jailbroken.

    Reply
  • 14. lex  |  March 19, 2011 at 3:12 am

    I’m caught in this loop of iTunes asking me to authorize the computer. It tells me the machine is already authorized. Then it gives me the error message again, asking me to authorize. I click “Authorize” and it automatically has someone else’s email address there. Anyone have this problem or know how to get past it?

    Reply
  • 15. Mitul Patel  |  March 27, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Thanks Work For Me !!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 16. Jon  |  April 9, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Thanks. Worked like a charm!

    Reply
  • 17. lam do  |  December 13, 2011 at 4:25 am

    I download a game Fruit ninjia on line and sync to my iphone it ask me to enter my itune account to authorize then i click yes. It was sync successfully and will apple store charge me on my account?

    Reply
  • 18. JanL  |  January 26, 2012 at 11:34 am

    THAAAANKS SO MUCH!

    Reply
  • 19. chris-p  |  February 19, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    did not work for me, unfortunately.

    Reply
  • 20. bumblebee7782  |  May 3, 2012 at 6:28 am

    Hi, what do I do if it says that “this computer is already authorized”? My dad’s account was disabled so I’m trying to use mine but it just won’t work! Any suggestions?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Pics

Barangaroo from Dawn Princess Bridge

Dawn Princess Bridge

Slayer!

War Tunnels

War Tunnels

More Photos

Subscribe to my blog to receive email notifications of new posts!

Join 2 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

